The Shaft franchise consists of five action-crime feature films and seven television films, centered on a family of African-American police detectives all sharing the name John Shaft. The first three features may be described as blaxploitation films, the television film series is a mystery, and the fourth feature installment is a crime thriller. By contrast the fifth film installment, released to Netflix, is a satirical buddy-cop comedy.

    More details

    director Gordon Parks
    genre action comedy crime mystery thriller
    musicBy Isaac Hayes
    publisher Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer
    theme blaxploitation