We of the Never Never

We of the Never Never

We of the Never Never is a 1982 Australian drama film directed by Igor Auzins and starring Angela Punch McGregor, Arthur Dignam, John Jarratt, and Tony Barry. It is based on the 1908 autobiographical novel We of the Never Never by Jeannie Gunn. It was nominated for five AFI awards and earned one award for best cinematography.


The film focuses on the life of Jeannie, an educated woman from the upper-middle class of society, and her story of adapting to life in the outback of Australia. Following her marriage to Aeneas Gunn who has just bought a 1 million acre cattle station near Mataranka, called Elsey Station, Jeannie follows him from Melbourne in 1902. Some of the drovers are unhappy at first because they believe that the bush is no place for a white woman. They are wary of her and make fun of her when she and her husband arrive. However, Jeannie is determined to prove them wrong.