Fantaghirò, alternately titled The Cave of the Golden Rose (La Grotta della Rosa d'Oro), is an Italian fantasy series consisting of five television films directed by Lamberto Bava and released between 1991 and 1996. The first film was originally based on Italo Calvino's Fanta-Ghiro the Beautiful, before splitting in its own direction in the sequels, and takes place in a fairy tale setting, featuring princesses, princes, witches, wizards and talking animals. Highly popular in Italy during the 1990s, it was loosely adapted into a cartoon series of the same title and there also have been abortive plans for further film entries.

    More details

    director Lamberto Bava
    genre fantasy
    musicBy Amedeo Minghi
    producer Roberto Bessi
    recordedAt Pernštejn Castle
    theme cartoon