Glee is an American musical comedy-drama television series that aired on the Fox network in the United States from May 19, 2009, to March 20, 2015. It centers on the fictional William McKinley High School glee club, the New Directions, which competes on the show choir competition circuit while its disparate members deal with social issues, especially regarding sexuality, race, relationships, and teamwork. The initial twelve-member cast included Matthew Morrison as club director and Spanish teacher Will Schuester, Jane Lynch as cheerleading coach Sue Sylvester, Jayma Mays as guidance counselor Emma Pillsbury, Jessalyn Gilsig as Will's wife Terri, and the eight original club members, including Dianna Agron as Quinn Fabray, Chris Colfer as Kurt Hummel, Kevin McHale as Artie Abrams, Lea Michele as Rachel Berry, Cory Monteith as Finn Hudson, Amber Riley as Mercedes Jones, Mark Salling as Noah Puckerman, and Jenna Ushkowitz as Tina Cohen-Chang. The main cast was altered throughout the series.