The House of the Dead

The House of the Dead (also known as Alien Zone) is a 1978 American anthology horror film directed by Sharron Miller, and the only feature film Miller has directed. The film's ensemble cast includes John Ericson, Ivor Francis, Judith Novgrod, Burr DeBenning, Charles Aidman, Bernard Fox, and Richard Gates, along with Elizabeth MacRae, Linda Gibboney, Leslie Paxton, and John King. It consists of four short stories built into a frame narrative about a man who takes refuge from a rainstorm in the residence of a mortician, with the four stories relating the fates of four corpses in the mortician's care.


An adulterous man named Talmudge finds himself lost in a rainstorm on his way back to his hotel. He is invited indoors from the rain by a mortician, who tells Talmudge that he acquires and embalms the bodies of people who experienced interesting and unique deaths. The mortician shows Talmudge several caskets, and details the fates of each of their occupants.